Lisa

Nurse. Mummy. Wife. Life.

Mobile Phones

Leave a comment

How does it feel when someone talks to you and they are busy staring at their phone? So annoying and frankly rude.

It’s so common these days to be so occupied with our phones that we forget to even look at people in the face when we talk. As though what we are typing or doing on our phone can’t wait for two minutes while we have a conversation.

Well imagine what it must feel like for a little baby……Trying to get to your parents attention and they are too busy staring at a screen.

We are all guilty of it, especially myself. But as of late I have tried to make a point of putting my phone down, or switching off the TV if I find it too distracting around my son.

A simple example is feeding your child. That’s a time to connect and bond with your child. A time to look into their eyes, and really analyse every inch of their little bodies. A time to really get to know your child, and to reassure them that you are there for them. A moment of peace. Instead we are such a multi-media driven society that I often see mothers feeding while texting, not even giving a glance to their child.

I’m not perfect, and like I said have been guilty of doing such things, but I am trying to change my ways. I’m trying to really imagine my life through my son’s eyes, and how I would feel being in his shoes. Just because babies can’t talk, doesn’t mean they don’t know what is going on.

I don’t want my son growing up thinking I don’t have time for him. I don’t want him thinking I am too busy in life that I can’t give him my whole attention. I want my son to know that he is my special little man, and that I will always have time for him. I want to teach him the right way to communicate. I don’t want him living his life behind a screen.

It’s our job as parents to make our children feel like the most important people in the world. It’s our job to make them feel adored, loved and uniquely special. And that all starts with the way we respond to them. The way we interact with them.

My phone can wait.

Author: Lisa

Mummy to 3 under 4. Wife. Child and family health nurse.

Leave a Reply

