Lisa

Nurse. Mummy. Wife. Life.

Emergency Caesarean

Leave a comment

IMG_1866

I am yet to discuss my labour and birth story. I haven’t quite felt ready to share those hours of my life.

The months leading up to my son’s birth, I was preparing for the unknown. I knew anything on the day could happen, but as long as my son and I was safe and alive, then it was a success. 

I don’t feel it necessary to go into details, but I will talk about one thing. That thing is my one regret. The one thing I would change if I had it all over again.

My one regret is listening to my obstetrician and letting him talk me into getting induced. I should have known better, and I should have listened to my gut feeling. I knew deep down I should just trust my body, as I had done so the last 40 weeks of pregnancy.

I had a very smooth, and uncomplicated pregnancy. No health issues, or concerns. There was no medical justification for me being induced, but my obstetrician said that since I was full term I should think about getting our son out. I wish I had said I wanted to wait a little longer to see if I will go into labour naturally. Give my body a chance to show what it’s capable of. But I trusted my doctor, and I was so excited to meet the little man……A woman who is full term and over it, is in no state to be making rational decisions.

There will be good and bad stories about being induced, and I’m not here to debate that. The point I’m trying to make is that women do have a choice, and you should never feel pressured or forced to do something you don’t want to do. I did have a choice, and I chose to ignore that little voice inside my head saying “Wait! Your baby will be here in due time!”. Instead I let my doctor convince me it’s the right thing to do, even though there was no medical reason for it.

I know there must be plenty of other women out there who have been through the same thing.

This whole baby making process is complicated, and I don’t think I will ever fully grasp the complexity of what it takes to conceive, birth and raise a child. But what I do know at the end of it all is that I am healthy, my son is healthy, and they were my main goals during pregnancy. So even though I have regrets, I know without a doubt I would go through a million induced labours and emergency caesareans if it meant I had my baby son to have and to hold.

Author: Lisa

Mummy to 3 under 4. Wife. Child and family health nurse.

Leave a Reply

