Lisa

Nurse. Mummy. Wife. Life.

Single Mum

4 Comments

My husband went away for the weekend. On a boys trip.

I have to admit I wasn’t the happiest about him leaving me with our son so he can spend a weekend bonding with his mates over cars. I was envious of him that he can just take off like that. I don’t have that luxury or option anymore. When you are breastfeeding you can’t just take off for a night. I feel my son is too small and little to spend a night without mummy. I honestly don’t know when I will be able to do it. And most the time I don’t know if I really even want to spend a night away from my son. I feel a duty to him, and a responsibility to be there for him. Maybe it is a mummy thing. Or maybe it’s just me. I honestly don’t know. All I know is that if given the choice I would not be able to go a night with out my son. Not just yet.

So back to my point. After having a weekend alone with my son, all I kept thinking of was about all the single parents out there. I have to say that it takes a strong, dedicated, and super special person to raise a child or children on their own. Here I am struggling for a weekend, and out there this is the reality for a lot of men and women. I just have to say “WOW”!! My mother raised me as a single mum for the most part of my life, and I really don’t think I will ever truly understand the sacrifice, and hard work that goes into doing it on your own. I am a mother now, and know that I would do anything for him. But I can’t imagine doing it alone.

So this post is just a big shout out to all the amazing single fathers and mothers out there who really when you think about it are raising a huge percentage of the children today. I am sure everyone of us knows at least one person who was raised by a single parent. It’s all too common these days.

Thank you mum for everything. Thank you for working your butt off to try and give me the best life possible. Thank you for always making me feel like I was worth it all. Thank you for all the sacrifices, and hard work you put into raising me on your own. Thank you for being an amazing single mum!! I love you xxx

Author: Lisa

Mummy to 3 under 4. Wife. Child and family health nurse.

4 thoughts on “Single Mum

  1. As long as Daddy knows how lucky he is and appreciates that he has a wife that is so understanding! You’re doing an awesome job. Thank you for sharing your journey x

    Like

  2. A great blog. You somtimes have to paddle in someone else’s puddle to realise how difficult or different life can be.;-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

