Lisa

Nurse. Mummy. Wife. Life.

Coconut Oil

2 Comments

Image

When I was pregnant I went on a search to find a skin moisturiser that didn’t have 101 ingredients and chemicals. Every single product that claims to “prevent stretch marks”, or “keep you looking younger” was something I just found hard to believe.

That is when I discovered coconut oil. It can be found at most supermarkets, and all health stores. And the benefits of this oil is amazing. It’s a natural sunscreen, antibacterial, antifungal, antiviral, and one of the healthy saturated fats for your diet. I could rave on about it for days.

Jensen has eczema and I wanted to make sure I use low irritant moisturisers on his skin. Every night after his bath we lather him in coconut oil, and his skin is beautiful. And I feel good knowing that no preservatives or numbers are going onto his skin. I have jars of the stuff everywhere.

We are flooded with so much packaged food and products that it is really hard to know what we are putting on and in our bodies. Organic or not, fresh or frozen, raw or cooked……..it’s very confusing. I try and educate myself about the products I buy, and always look at the ingredients. The wording and labelling of a product can be a very different story when compared to the actual ingredients listed. An example is bread crumbs. I wanted to make chicken schnitzel. The popular brand that was in the store had no joke about 50 ingredients in it, and included ingredients like flavour enhancer (MSG), and flavourings. If I had to choose, I would rather just put some salt and pepper on my chicken than a box of chemicals.

I guess in a dream world I would be growing and harvesting all my own meat, fruit and vegetables. Then I would know exactly what is going in my families bodies. But till I win the lottery I will just have to keep reading the ingredients and rubbing that coconut oil in.

Author: Lisa

Mummy to 3 under 4. Wife. Child and family health nurse.

2 thoughts on “Coconut Oil

  1. Coconut Oil is amazing!

    Our bub was getting nappy rash from everyday baby wipes until a friend showed me how to make our own wipes simply using paper towel and Coconut oil…

    Cut a good brand of paper towel in half. In a bowl, mix two tablespoons melted coconut oil, a drop of tea tree oil, one teaspoon of bicarb soda and two cups boiled water. Pour the mix over the paper towel in the container and then take out the cardboard tube.

    So much better for bubs skin and no more nappy rash 🙂 Not to mention it’s a cheaper alternative than buying and using those chemical filled store bought ones!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is fantastic! I am going to make that this week and give it a go. It’s so funny you mention nappy rash because for the first time my son has developed nappy rash today. Poor little darling.
      I have also often thought about the wipes and have been trying to think of an alternative that works.
      Thanks again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

