Lisa

Nurse. Mummy. Wife. Life.

Smell The Roses

Leave a comment

IMG_0850

Mum and I took my son to the beach yesterday. It was a beautiful sunny day, and the water was perfect.

To anyone else the beach is nothing new, but to a little baby of 8 months, a big beach is so much more than what we realise. As we reached the shore, he was clinging to me. He could not take his eyes off the waves, and it occurred to me that what was making him scared was the noise the waves made. I tried to imagine what it must feel, and sound like to him. This loud sounding white stuff coming towards him.

No wonder babies are exhausted by the end of the day, because their senses are constantly being challenged. All the little noises, smells, and sights we see everyday and take for granted is all new to them. For us it would be like travelling to a new part of the world everyday, and trying to take it all in. And we all know how exhausting being a tourist is.

It was a day that made me remember to appreciate the little things in life. The simple things in life. The little comforts, and pleasures in life that we often forget to notice. Having a baby has changed my perspective of the world, and how I view it. Now that I am trying to imagine it through the eyes of a baby, the world really is a beautiful place. My son could spend all day playing with dirt, chasing ants, and looking up at the trees swaying in the wind. He really makes the world a better place. He makes me slow down, and smell the roses.

I didn’t realise how much this little person would change me. I didn’t realise a little person that can’t talk, feed themselves, and depends on you to basically stay alive, could bring out the best of me. A side of me I didn’t know existed. There is no one else that makes me sing silly songs, and pull silly faces, and spend all my money on, and all just to see him smile. No one demands all of myself the way he does, and I wouldn’t change it for the world. He has only been on this earth for 8 months of my life, and yet I can’t imagine life without him. I can’t remember life before him.

Being a parent is something you are never going to really be ready for, but I believe if your heart is in the right place, and you give yourself those moments to smell the roses, then you will be a wonderful parent.

Author: Lisa

Mummy to 3 under 4. Wife. Child and family health nurse.

Leave a Reply

