Lisa

Nurse. Mummy. Wife. Life.

Sweet Potato

Leave a comment

IMG_4156

Sweet Potato is without a doubt one of my favourite vegetables for so many reasons. If my son could talk he would say the same thing.

Coming up with baby food ideas can be hard, so when you find something that works it’s only logical to stick to it. Sweet potato was that food for me. It’s a guarantee every time with my son.

I recently looked up the health benefits and was pleasantly surprised at what I found. Firstly it’s so versatile- You can bake, steam, boil, microwave, fry, puree and even eat raw. It comes in various colours like purple and orange, and is super cheap.

It’s packed with Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Folate, Potassium, Calcium, and antioxidants. It’s low GI, and has anti inflammatory properties. I love it if, you haven’t noticed.

Lately I have been steaming pieces of it, and giving them to my son to eat by himself. He loves using his hands to feed himself now, and sweet potato is perfect for him at this stage. Anyways, I’m sure this info is nothing new to people, but thought I would share 🙂

Author: Lisa

Mummy to 3 under 4. Wife. Child and family health nurse.

Leave a Reply

