Lisa

Nurse. Mummy. Wife. Life.

Justifying My Actions

Leave a comment

I believe that for the vast majority of parents out there, they love their children more than anything in the world. They want the best for them, and will do anything and everything to try and give them the best life possible. A parent doesn’t intentionally hurt their child, or purposely go out of their way to make life miserable for the two of them.

So why is it, with that said, do people still judge one another so much.

The reason I am mentioning this, is because it wasn’t till recently that I realised that I was guilty of always justifying my actions. As though I had to prove my point, and put a strong case forward as to the choices I made with the way I raise our son. It’s subconscious, you don’t even realise you are doing it. But when you do, it becomes very obvious and kind of annoying on my part.

It could be a simple question someone might ask you like, “does your son sleep through the night?”, or “what do you feed him?”. And before you know it, you are rambling on and trying to explain yourself to someone. I made a conscious effort a few weeks ago, to try not to do this anymore. It isn’t easy. Searching, and seeking approval from others can be a losing battle. Because sometimes, no matter what you say, they will always think they know better.

So all I can say is let it go. Be accepting of your choices, and never feel as a parent you have to justify your actions. I am sensitive, and am guilty of trying to please others. I think deep down we have all got our insecurities, and becoming a parent really tested me at times and self doubt often pops up.

I have come to realise that the friends and family around me love me and my son dearly and always have good intentions. But I now realise that I can only live my life, and not anyone else’s. Just because you did it that way, doesn’t mean I have to. Just because you read that, doesn’t mean I have to. It is okay, and healthy to be different, and there are hundreds of different ways to get the same positive result.

I guess the main point I am trying to get across is that no one can be a better parent than you are to your child. It is okay to have different parting styles, and life choices. Do what feels right, and what comes natural for you. You don’t have to explain yourself to anyone.

 

Author: Lisa

Mummy to 3 under 4. Wife. Child and family health nurse.

Leave a Reply

