Lisa

Nurse. Mummy. Wife. Life.

Loss & Pain

Leave a comment

There was a story in the news recently about a father that killed his 3 and 4 year old daughters. They didn’t go into details regarding a motive or how, but enough was said to prove this man was guilty. It is hard to comprehend such violence, and my heart breaks for the mother and family of these baby girls.

Stories like this really make me reflect about myself as a parent, and what future I want for my son. I’m sure the vast majority think the same as I do, and want nothing but the best for your child. You are willing to do everything in your power to create a safe, and happy environment for your baby to grow. You want nothing but the best for them, and have nothing but good intentions.

Watching this story on the news got me thinking about the family and friends you trust your child to be around. Domestic abuse and violence is a reality, and occurring in all corners of the world. How do you protect your child from that? It would be so easy to dismiss a gut feeling or event, because it is hard to stomach someone you love and trust is capable of hurting a child. And sadly it is always the children that are the innocent victims in all of this.

For me I know that I will always follow my gut instinct, and if I don’t have a good feeling about someone, or if my son ever tells me something that doesn’t sound right, I will act on it. I would rather have an awkward and uncomfortable conversation with someone, than do nothing. I would rather question someone, than ignore the signs and then find out later someone hurt my child. It is an awful reality that we have to be suspicious of our neighbours, and the people around us, but you hear too many stories of violence and abuse and it is usually happening right under your nose.

I am not telling anyone else how to parent their children or what to think. I just hope to always keep an open mind, be alert to any red flags, and hopefully protect my son from such loss & pain.

 

Author: Lisa

Mummy to 3 under 4. Wife. Child and family health nurse.

Leave a Reply

