Lisa

Nurse. Mummy. Wife. Life.

Natural or Caesarean?

Leave a comment

I have the choice of having an elective caesarean or going natural with my second pregnancy. I have been told it is totally up to me. The hospital will support whatever decision I make.
I am almost at the halfway point of my pregnancy, and I feel like it has gone in a flash. I honestly don’t know where the time has gone.
As the time goes on, I have moments where I think “yes I am going to go natural!”. But then a moment later my fears, and concerns overtake me and I am back at my first thought. I honestly feel I will end up having an elective caesarean. In my heart of hearts, I don’t know if I have the courage to try and go natural and leave it to fate as to what happens.
When I was pregnant with my son, I was so excited about the labour and trying to go natural. I was open minded, and ready to take on the world. I felt like super woman, and that I truly could do it. After all, women have been having babies naturally for centuries- it is what our bodies are designed to do.
But after my experiences, and the pain I had to go through, I am not as brave as I used to be. My fears and anxiety have the better of me now. All I want is for my baby and I to be happy and healthy. I have listed all the pros and cons of natural vs caesarean, and I always end up in the same spot. I always end up in the elective caesarean column.
My decision isn’t set in concrete, and as time passes I may change my mind.
I have till early decemeber to decide. Plenty of time. Maybe by then I would have plucked up the courage to give it a crack, and see if I can do it naturally.
Time will tell.

Author: Lisa

Mummy to 3 under 4. Wife. Child and family health nurse.

Leave a Reply

